Social Sunday is a new feature I’m trying out here at 2 Dogs and the Cat. Every Sunday, I’ll share a social tip or discovery I’ve found.
Today’s Social Sunday is geared for anyone who manages a Facebook business or fan page. I’ll be showing how to “hide” a post or comment from your page, and an important thing to remember when doing so.
A couple of weeks ago, a heated discussion broke out on a page I manage. It wasn’t anything vulgar; rather it just didn’t fit the spirit of the page. I had two options – I could delete the comments, resulting in the person knowing I had deleted, or use Facebook’s “hide” feature. Since it wasn’t anything terrible (no threats, no foul language, etc), I chose to hide.
(Below isn’t the comment I hid; just an example).
Simply place your mouse over the right corner of the comment. An X will appear with the word “hide.” According to Facebook, once a post is hidden, it will only be visible to the person who wrote it, and their friends. This is useful to avoid “why did you delete my comment?” type posts.
Now – here’s the thing to know about hiding a post: It doesn’t work on mobile. Meaning, even though I “hid” the post via my desktop, it was still entirely visible to everyone on mobile. I discovered this while browsing the page on my phone later. To be sure it wasn’t an admin override, I checked from my husband’s phone as well – the comments were still entirely visible. The only option on the Facebook iOS app is to “delete” the comment entirely.
As always, the best step is to use common sense when deleting or hiding comments. Ask, is it something vulgar, or does it just not fit? Can it be seen by others?
How do you deal with hiding or deleting on a Facebook page? Leave your comments below.