Painted Cabinet Handles

My house was built in the mid 1990s, so it has a lot of the now-outdated brassy gold. It’s especially prominent in the doorknobs and cabinet handles.

I’d seen the idea of using spray paint floating around on Pinterest from several different bloggers. After walking through the paint aisle one night at Lowe’s, I decided to give it a try. I was pleasantly surprised how it turned out, and how easy it was!

I used Rust-Oleum Universal Hammered Paint and Primer in One (in Brown).  It was around $7.50 per can at Lowe’s, and since I have a tiny kitchen, one can was more than enough.

Rust-Oleum Hammered in Brown

Rust-Oleum Hammered in Brown

I simply unscrewed the handles, took them outside, and went to work. I did one coat, then I let it dry. I can not emphasize this step enough. Let it dry for a full 24-hours if needed. I made the mistake of not drying long enough, and the newspaper stuck to the handles. I had to wash and then redo some, which took longer than expected. Let it dry between coats!

Handles

Handles

I sprayed the upper section of the knob, then the under section. Again, the main step is letting them dry before spraying again.

Before and After - Tada!

Before and After – Tada!

Little things in the house can make such a big difference!

One thought on “Painted Cabinet Handles

Leave a Reply

