Two Pinterest Recipe Finds – and a Lesson Learned

Have you ever tried to follow a recipe, only to have it turn into a total disaster due to failure on your part? This happened to me with my last two Pinterest recipe finds.

1) Slow Cooker Beef and Broccoli

 Beef

I failed to follow the directions on this one, and totally ruined what could have been a good dinner. The recipe called for beef, broccoli and rice that could be made in a slow-cooker (Crock Pot). Unfortunately, I failed to note the last bit that read “Serve over white rice…,” meaning that I wasn’t supposed to put the rice in the Crock Pot. The rice is to be made separately. I thought mostly anything could be made in the Crock Pot, but I was horrifically wrong that day. Ever had mashed potatoes, but made from rice instead of potatoes? Yuck.

I’m trying this again, but I may skip the Crock Pot entirely.

2) Crock Pot Tomato Basil Soup

tomato

I’m not rating this one either, simply because I deviated from the original recipe and used real tomatoes instead of canned. I’m not sure if it was me using real tomatoes or what, but it turned into an acidic mess. I grew up making southern chicken stew (which is very similar to this, but with chicken and noodles), and I’ve always known the tomato consistency has to be “just right” or it will throw off the PH, making for a very bitter taste. A quick Google search brings up a few sites that suggest adding baking soda to neutralize the acid. I have some leftovers – I may just try that.

Bottom line from both? Follow the directions – they are written for a reason!

One thought on “Two Pinterest Recipe Finds – and a Lesson Learned

Leave a Reply

