I Haven’t Shopped at Wal-Mart in Two Years

I haven’t shopped in Wal-Mart in nearly two years.

Okay, I’ve been in a Wal-Mart recently – I won’t lie. It was to help my mom pick out an “emergency” TV after hers just decided to stop working on day. I was also in one at 11:00 p.m. the other night when I had to get my mom some “emergency” flowers for Mother’s Day.

So Wal-Mart, to me = emergency/must-have-now purchases late night when nothing else is open.

But I haven’t really “shopped” at a Wal-Mart or made any major purchases there in nearly two years.

We buy all of our major (and many minor) purchases on Amazon, our groceries at a locally-owned store, and our essential/toiletry items at the Dollar General store near our house.

We subscribe to Amazon Prime, which is a service through Amazon that offers free 2-day shipping on products sold through Amazon (usually not through third party retailers). In addition to the free shipping, Prime offers numerous other benefits including instant movies (similar to Netflix, but mostly a different selection), and access to the Kindle Lending Library.

The service is $79 per year – we actually started ours for free when Daniel signed up for a free student account. Even with the $79 price tag, I’d still recommend it even if just for the free shipping alone.

A few years ago I actually lived in an area was Wal-Mart was (literally) my only option for groceries. It was always super-crowded and a trip there seemingly took forever. I’d much rather go to the local grocer, where I can be in and out in less than 20 minutes, or to the Dollar Store, where I can easily find exactly what I need.

Growing up in the south, Wal-Mart has always been a staple in my life – I even worked there for about two years. Now that I am on my own, I realize there are so many other options out there. I think I’ll stick with the other options.

Leave a Reply

