You might even wanna plant your stakes…

So, remember when I blogged about how something amazing was going to happen in March? Well, it did. It was incredible.

After a couple of years of begging, er, pleading, err… spending every night glued to a TV with certain shows, I got to go to Texas. My husband went for the South by Southwest Tech Conference, and I tagged along. Our plane touched down on a Saturday, and the next four days were some of the best of my life. Here are some pictures:

Daniel and I at a Third Eye Blind concert. Yes, 3EB. Actually, this is very special to us, as this was the first band we saw in concert together. It was the fourth of July, we were 18, and Daniel still says it was the best day of his life.

We were waiting in line for the Mashable house, when someone (I forget who) handed out plastic lightsabers.

I found Rainey Street. In Texas. I *heart* King of the Hill.

Daniel in front of the Alamo Drafthouse.

The night before we left, we actually got to go to an Alamo Drafthouse to see John Carter. They played a promo beforehand in which Taylor Kitsch said he comes there regularly and would beat you up if you talked during the movie.

Daniel and I with a Google car – also, Google had the best free food.

We planned for an extra day in Austin to do some fun stuff away from work. One of the places I wanted to visit was the famous Top Notch, mostly known from Dazed and Confused. It’s the place where Wooderson said alright. I highly, highly recommend eating there – the staff was really friendly and the food is delicious.

They have some props from the movie inside. They actually have movie nights in the spring and summer where they’ll show movies outside on their wall.

Afterwards, we got to do so stuff I really wanted to do. As in, LIFE’S DREAM wanted to do. As in, I will never live this down for the rest of my life, nothing will ever top this not even the birth of any future children my life is complete kind of do.

Are you ready?

Really, really ready?

Wait for it.

Wait…

Now!



Yes, we visited the Dillon High School football stadium. My life is complete. Thank you, Coach and Mrs. Coach for everything you taught me about life, love and marriage.

We also found the Alamo Freeze – the same Alamo Freeze where Tyra was assaulted, where Smash thought about stealing some money out of the register, and where Matt worked all through high school.

We also drove by Tim Riggins’ land. I think I halfway expected to see the frame of a house sitting on the hill with Tim and Billy sitting in some lawn chairs with a cooler while the sun goes down.

This was one of the absolute best moments of my life. As cool as Austin is, I can’t even begin to imagine how amazing the rest of Texas must be. I can only hope to get back there someday and experience the rest of it.

Leave a Reply

