New Year’s Resolutions and Such…

The things I spend my life worrying about:

1) My winter coat. I thought it was gone for sure. The last time I remember having it was about two weeks ago in the car. I had searched everywhere for it. I was in a panic because I thought I had left it at church. No huge deal, but I didn’t want some kid going through the pockets or something. I finally found it this morning – it had fallen in our coat closet and was under a quilt at the bottom. 

2) Pet hair and guests. I try so hard to vacuum the hair out of our house. I have no clue what we’ll do if we are still living here when put it on the market – we may even have to relocate them. I’m not worried about the pets biting anyone; I’m more concerned about it just being stuffy in general. I know sometimes, after living with pets for so long, it’s hard to notice their smell and scent. 

3) Work. I try so hard not to take work home with me, but I think it’s hard for everyone. I’ve been trying to control that for a while now. I am not near as bad as I once was, however.

4) Germs. I try so hard to not be a “germaphobe,” but with all of the sicknesses that have been going around, it’s tough to not be. It probably didn’t help that I watched Contagion last night. 

5) Other people. Sometimes I worry about the welfare of others so much that I even forget about myself. This is probably my worst one, and I’ve been working to stop this. 

My New Year’s Resolutions:

1) To not be a couch potato. The last year or so, I have turned into a serious poh-tay-toe. I promise, I spend half of my evenings on the sofa on Facebook. When I’m not on FB, I’m randomly Googling random junk. I have a Google addiction. My searches this week included “do they still make colored toilet paper” and “how to make colored toilet paper.” It’s ridiculous. I’m not going to tell you how it’s been since I started using Pinterest.

2) To write more. Dan actually wrote and released an eBook this past year. He wrote the majority of it, followed by some inserts and edits by myself and Bryan. I have always loved writing since childhood, and it has flat-escaped me the past few years.

3) Something that will be revealed in March. I can’t say what this is, only that it is in the process for now. It’s on my bucket list, and now seems as good a time as any to go for it.

4) To move from the suburban sprawl. Dan and I both grew up in the country, and we like it that way. Seriously. Jokes ands song lyrics aside, a new Wal-Mart Supercenter, Target, hospital and Panera Bread are all going in less than 10 minutes from us. Don’t get me wrong, I am super excited about the Panera Bread, but the Wal-Mart I could do without. I am sure some people love it, and the hospital was needed, but suburbia just isn’t for us.

5) Worry less. See above.

DSC04204

Leave a Reply

