“That boy sure is a runnin’ fool.”

This past August, my husband, Daniel, ran his second 5K. Even though he did better than last year, he didn’t place because there were significantly more people in his age division. But that’s totally okay – he doesn’t run for the medals, he just runs for fun.

Every year I say I am going to train and run it with him, but I never do. I’ve just never been much of a runner at all. Even in elementary P.E., when our teacher would try to get us to run laps, I’d always be the very last one, to the point I’d have to lie about how many I had actually ran.

It’s not that I am out of shape or not athletic – I was a competitive dancer for well over 10 years. I was a cheerleader for a while as well – but even then, running laps was not my strong point.

The funny thing is – I can power walk the mess out of anything. No big deal at all. Maybe next year I will do the 5K – as a power walker!

Leave a Reply

