Southern Cornbread

This is my 13th post on the 13th day of April. I hope that’s not unlucky…

I finally put together a good recipe for cornbread. Not buttermilk cornbread, not Mexican cornbread and not sweet cornbread. Just plan ‘ole delicious southern cornbread. I should probably preface this with a disclaimer about the amounts of the ingredients: I’ve never, ever measured out an amount of cornmeal or milk in my life. Actually, until I started writing a recipe, I never even thought about “how much” cornmeal or milk I actually used.

That being said, these amounts are the best estimates I have after trying several different amounts last night.

You will need:
2/3 cup of milk
1 1/3 cups yellow self-rising cornmeal – I prefer Martha White “Hot Rize”
1 egg

mixing bowl
spatula
small (mine is about 5 inches across) Cast Iron skillet

Preheat oven to 400 degrees, and gather your ingredients.

Mix cornmeal, milk and egg. If you are in a pinch and don’t have any eggs, you can use about two tablespoons of mayonnaise instead. I don’t reccommend it, but it will work if you’re having a “oh, crap I forgot something” night.

Mix with spatula:

The mixture should be mostly smooth – not too thick, but not too thin. It’s better to get it a little too thick than too thin – thin mixture will not cook all the way through.

Lightly grease your skillet. Since cast iron can be tricky to clean, I devote this skillet to only cooking cornbread. (Years ago, I ruined two cast iron wedding gifts because I had no clue how to care for them).

Pour mixture into skillet:

Bake at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes. Check on it every five minutes or so. It’s done when it has a golden brown top. It’s okay if it has a crack. Err, even a massive one, I promise.

Immediately after removing from the oven, spread a little butter over the top:

Cut into wedges and serve with au gratin potatoes, peas and ham, or your favorite country dinner:

Leave a Reply

