Change

For five years, I’ve been a country girl from a very rural area living in suburban wonderland amidst a sprawling black hole of a metropolis 14 times larger than the entire county I grew up in. I originally moved here because my husband (then boyfriend and eventually fiance) chose to go to college here, and I found a job very easily. But I’ve got to admit, I’m burned out. At the very least, the coals in the fire are getting very, very hot.

Don’t get me wrong, I love out little lives. I love our house – it’s the most perfect house for us. I love our little dogs and our special cat, Rickey. I suppose I’m the type of person who needs and requires change to function. I get burned out too easily on things and places. I don’t do stress. At all.

Part of me just wants to run away to someplace warm, sunny and farmy; the other part of me says “Grow up and deal with it.”

Will “change” really make me happy again? And if it does, how long will that change last?

Leave a Reply

